#skincaretalk: Simple Clear Skin Oil Balancing Moisturizer

Choosing the right moisturizer has been quite a struggle for me in Malaysia. I always get disappointed seeing cream-based moisturizers conquering most shelves in every drugstore I’ve been to. Cream-based moisturizers are definitely no-no  since it would make my skin shiny as hell if I use it! So, the only option when it comes to picking moisturizers is the gel type or water-based moisturizer. My bare face is already oily during the day, so I really need something to balance out the sebum output.

I’ve read few reviews about this product and tbh, I’m such a picky consumer when it comes to the brand. Oily skin is quite a mess – acnes could easily appear out of nowhere and you’d need to have blotting papers with you most of the time when you’re out. So, I don’t really want to wrong-pick my skincare products and finally, I decided to give this brand a try.

BRAND IN BRIEF

Simple is a British brand that has been in the cosmetics arena for decades. I love how their company’s philosophy emphasizes on being kind to our skin that is actually sensitive. And what I really admire the brand is that you won’t find any artificial perfume/colour and animal-derived ingredients in any of their products. I’m not a fan of heavily scented products so yeay!! Plus I’m currently using their toner and I super duper love it (another review coming up).

BASICALLY WHAT ARE THE MAIN ACTIVE INGREDIENTS?

Since it caters the oily skin type, the active ingredients include:

Zinc PCA which has anti-aging benefits for skin, can reduce oiliness of the skin and reduce redness of acnes.

Pro-Vitamin B5/panthenol which will be converted to vitamin B5 when it is in contact with skin. It works mainly for regenerative, healing, moisturizing and protecting the skin.

Glycerin/glycerol which helps to attract moisture from air and help retain the moisture in your skin.

Tapioca starch to mattify the skin.

Vitamin E as antioxidants.

Phytosphingosine for reducing blemishes and anti-acne properties.

Anthemis nobilis flower oil that soothe the skin.

HOW IT LOOKS UPON APPLICATION?

Not sticky and not occlusive at all so maybe it’s not really suitable for the dry-skin type. Also, even in air-conditioned room or when I’m outside, no sort of severe oiliness experienced.

After applying my serum, I usually put a pea size of the moisturizer and massage it gently onto my skin and neck. Some tips here – make sure you apply your moisturizer evenly and make sure to massage it on your face to so that it’ll penetrate your skin better.

FINAL VERDICT?

PROS: It does a pretty decent job for my oily skin! Definitely better than my previous moisturizer and my skin doesn’t breakout with this moisturizer. For RM18.90, it is a very good moisturizer and also affordable for those on small steps towards better skincare routines 🙂

CONS: No SPF and it contains methylparaben but I don’t really mind because the concentration is quite low. And it doesn’t break me out so I’m fine with it.

Leave a Reply

