grocery shopping in egypt!

Whichever country that I go, I’d always make sure to allocate some time to visit their grocery stores. I mean, it’s one of the things that I really look forward to besides going to the mandatory tourist spots. I really had a fun time, observing how locals spend their time buying their groceries and how different their supermarket would be. I could spent hours inside since their products are wayyy different than ours. Like how different Malaysian juices taste than Egypt’s and there are soooo many different kind of instant coffees sold in Egypt – you have many to choose from lattes to cappuccino! Hahaha, I even bought the whole box of instant lattes because it tastes pretty good and not to forget, they are very generous. One sachet could fill up half of a mug, so you do not need to worry about the amount of hot water you want to pour in. Up to you, thin or thick 😉

20170113_154733

I spent a lot in unhealthy (I mean junk) food, haha! Guilty pleasure, I know. Everything looks so attractive that you want to buy the whole shop and deliver to Malaysia. And cheap, of course since Egyptian pounds were at their weakest during my time there – RM 1 is equivalent to 4 LE.  I bought chocolates, instant coffees, chocolate milks and other stuff. Sadly, two bottles of milk which is the BESTEST milk I’ve ever tasted became stale when I opened it at home. Maybe due to the long transit that I went through and the milk is freshly packaged so it needs to be consumed directly after purchase! Seriously, it is really really good, guys.

So, food first.

20170113_154906

MANDOLIN!!!!! (MY FAV)

It is a Cadbury product and it is a bit similar to Twix, but of course cheaper and only in Egypt! That explains why I bought the whole box….hmm maybe for a year stock?

CHIPSY!!

20170113_154805

The packaging is very alike to Lays, isn’t it? But the packaging mentions that the product is made in Egypt, hmmmm so, idk. Let’s just say that it the Egyptian version of Lays 😀 It is our go-to snack during long rides especially when we travelled to Siwa from Alexandria. My father loves it so much and we would buy it whenever we stopped for prayers/toilets (shops sell this snack). It comes in many flavours like kebab, cheese, onion cheese, lime (weird I know) and original. Well, I personally like onion cheese!

MOLTO! (my 2nd favourite)

20170113_154938

Why Malaysia doesn’t have this kind of snacks?!! These croissants are very delicious and comes in mini size and XL size. Within 10 seconds, you can finish it. Trust me 😉

GALAXY CHOCOLATE + FLUTES BY GALAXY

20170113_162645

Galaxy is pretty good, too and almost the same to Dove chocolate in Malaysia. Better than Cadbury’s. Flutes is another class. Very crunchy and it sort of melts into your mouth! My twin sister loves it so much that she bought bundles of it and Malaysia should sell this, hands down.

MISCELLANOUS (TODO CAKE BAR, TODO BOMB, MONGINIS MEGA DREAM SWISS ROLL)

20170113_155047

hello diabetes.

KRAKY SALTED CHEESE CRACKERS

20170113_154828

 

Moving on to drinks,

BONJORNO CAFÉ LATTE INSTANTS!!! (DA B.O.M.B)

20170113_154841

One box contains 8 sachets and I am a truly satisfied customer. Idk, it tastes pretty much like those coffees that you’d bought at the normal cafes. 10/10 WOOHOO!

DINA FARMS CHOCOLATE MILK

20170113_155808.jpg

The best chocolate milk on the Earth. So fresh that one bottle is not enough. 5 STARSS

JUHAYNA CHOCOLATE MILK

img_20170110_225231

2nd  best chocolate milk on Earth. Hahah.

JUHAYNA JUICES

20170113_155110

Not a big fan of processed juices, gotta admit that these taste a lot more better than Malaysia’s local juice brand.

ICE-CREAM MIX (i wonder why did i buy this……)

20170113_155135

Overall, I’m a satisfied customer. Thank you Egypt!

2 thoughts on “grocery shopping in egypt!

  1. I hope you enjoyed it! Personally, whenever I go grocery shopping , I always make sure to pick up Moltos as well because they are delicious and I am also absolutely obsessed with Dina Farms’ chocolate milk! Hope you enjoyed your trip! 🙂

Leave a Reply

