film vs digital

For the past week, I’ve been quite productive and I’ve managed to finish KC Lau’s free ebook regarding financial management within an hour! To review, the book is quite informative especially for a 20 year-old who can barely differentiate between liability and asset (heh). Better something than nothing, right? And yass, now I know a bit of ways and strategies for my financial planning. Start small, but dream big :_)

e900e9d3e8cea9ab0c22fc74a027630f7f64.jpg
My frontyard in 2011. Taken using Wide and Slim camera.

Looking at my past, it has been 5 years since I used my film cameras. Can’t believe that a 15 year-old Saf would love film cameras! *pats on the back* I sorta miss pressing that shutter button and looking through the viewfinder. There is one shop in Seremban where I’d always send my negatives to be developed. I would have adrenaline rush whenever the time comes to pick up those film rolls. Obviously, film cameras can be quite costly since the world right now is all about digital. Except when you’re living in the US so it would be more convenient (read: Lomography is based there ). Here, it’s quite hard to find photo shops selling film rolls nowadays and the process of developing the films is quite pricey. Let’s say in Seremban, it’s RM13 per roll (mini CD is included). For some, it’s meh nothing but I found myself a bit struggling since I was a student at that time. Worst when nothing turned out well and none of the pictures were according to what I wanted. Sometimes, it was a happy day to see my pictures turning out really nice and had those double exposure effects. In simpler words, lomography can be a fun thing but imo, it is best enjoyed when you have the right budget for cameras/films/photos and the right techniques. As simple as film cameras need light to function their best and as complicated as to use a 35mm film on a 120mm adapter. Struggle is real. Imma wait until my financial is stable and I’ll rock those Lomohomes again.

00036e8c467eae374a0e05e5527e17a3562e.jpg
Taken using Holga 120CFN five years ago when I visited my primary school.

So, last Saturday I’ve tried applying those effects on my travel pictures (digital) using Picmonkey and as nice as the results turn out to be, film cameras win. Lomography and double exposures are like two best friends that are attached to each other. I really love double exposures effects for it carries a lot of meanings into the art.

You should be able to see the differences between photos above and below.

bangkok.jpg
Sunset in Mekong River layered with railway station in Bangkok.

Negatives > digital, isn’t it?

train.jpg
Train feat sunflower field in Thailand.                       
Leave a Reply

