korean fried chicken

The idea of trying out this recipe came across my mind long after my friend, Hafsa posted a picture of Martha’s One Pan Spaghetti that she cooked on Twitter.That’s a recipe that I’m dying to try but haven’t got the chance. Regardless, thanks to her, I came across Donal Skehan’s recipes where Hafsa got hers. Wait, who doesn’t know Donal Skehan? Awhh, he’s such a bae. Perfect package – Irish, celebrity chef, funny and people adores his loving relationship with his dog, Max.

Anyway, instead of following Donal’s measurements from the recipe, I made some changes because gochujang is quite expensive here in Malaysia and I’m not going to use much of it on my first try. So yeah, enjoy!

xx

Korean Fried Chicken, inspired by Donal Skehan’s

 

20160904_232337_Richtone(HDR).jpg

Servings for 1-2 persons

Things you’ll need:

  • Chickens, preferably drummettes*;
  • Gochujang (red pepper paste), bought it at Jusco;
  • Tomato sauce;
  • Normal vinegar;
  • Sesame seed oil;
  • Garlic;
  • Light soy sauce/normal soy sauce;
  • Normal sugar/brown sugar

*since I’m lazy, I opted for the Ayamas Hot Crispy Chicken.

Steps:

1/ For the sauce, you need to ensure that its consistency is thick. Not so thick, though. So first, chop off 4 cloves of garlic, and inside a bowl, add in the garlic with 4 tbsp of gochujang, 2 tbsp of tomato sauce, 2 tbsp of vinegar, 1 tbsp of sesame seed oil, 2 tbsp of soy sauce and 4 tbsp of sugar.

2/ Mix them well and place on medium heat. Bring to a low simmer for about 3 minutes.

3/ Fry the chicken for around 10 minutes (depends) and make sure the chicken turns golden brown and cooked all the way through.

4/ Drain the chicken using paper towels and then, pour the warm gochujang sauce over them and make sure the chickens are entirely coated. Voila, done!

Review:

20160904_232303_Richtone(HDR)

At first, I felt like it tasted just okay nice. You know, gochujang tastes a bit different than the normal Malaysian sambal cili. Fyi, gochujang is fermented naturally and it smells a bit pungent, but brings a tinge of sweetness when used in cooking. The next day, I fried another batch of chickens again and coat them with the sauce that I’ve kept overnight. Everything tasted A LOT MORE BETTER! So good, guys. So good that I promise to myself that I’ll repeat this recipe in future. Hopefully, you’ll try too 🙂

For the original recipe, click here.

Bon appetito!!

 

Leave a Reply

