eid 2016

 

 

 

DSC_0475.jpg

Eid Mubarak readers!

First of all, I’d like to say many many Alhamdulillah. Alhamdulillah, we all got through Ramadhan and Syawal is already here. So fast, isn’t it? Is it only me feeling that the first day of Syawal went so fast? Like so fast, it’s already the fifth day of Syawal πŸ™‚

Spending 4 days out of the radar made me reflect so many things about myself and my life. I realized that time is much slower in kampung, maybe due to the absence of technology. I even managed to finish a book, helped a bit in the kitchen and had several conversations with my relatives. I know sometimes things could get awkward, but actually there are so many topics to be talked about, isn’t it? From studies updates to different type of kuih rayas πŸ˜€ No excuses forΒ us to be awkward kan?

Looking back at my Aidilfitri celebration at kampung, I’m glad that it went smooth. And quite joyful, too. Since both my grandparents on Ibu’s side are still alive (alhamdulillah), so the balik kampung tradition continues each year. My mother has 10 siblings overall and the daughters will be present each year. Plus, this year there were around 6 families that went back and I couldn’t forget how lively the kampung was. Btw, each family has 7 members in average so yeah… Despite the huge crowd, I loved it. Yes, I loved it. After all, Raya is all about celebrating togetherness, isn’t it? Moreover, with your beloved families. It felt so amazing to see everyone was willing to join in the celebration, although that requires sleeping in a squeezed space and waiting for the bathroom turns for 30 minutes. And no wifi, bad telephone signal and no air-conditioner. As typical as it sounds, I’m pretty sure that there is someone out there whoΒ have yet to experience these things.

But nothing beats watching your closed ones growing up, especially babies. Babies grow up so fast, don’t they? At one time, they were little innocent babies and suddenly, you see them talking and running around the house. Kids, kids.. how naughty they are, they’re the ones that cheer up the surrounding πŸ™‚

I guess it’s true when people say, blood is thicker than water.Β Since I have a big family, I’m thankful that the family Β bond has become a lot closer this year. There were a lot of things that happened in the past – bad and good ones. I’ve seen quarrels, tears and alhamdulillah it ended with peace. Well, I guess every family is flawed. No family is perfect in this world tbh. If you haven’t seen one, it’s just that maybe they don’t show it to you. Or you’re just too ignorant to observe around. There’s nothing wrong with a flawed family, though. Although sometimes I really hate (some) my sisters at one point I don’t want to talk to them forever, I just can’t. After all, they are my blood. Like it or not, I’ll definitely seek their opinions or solutions regarding anything. In simple words, I need them. So readers, you know what I’m trying to say – appreciate your family. It doesn’t matter whether you are the only child or whatever other reasons. Make efforts to make everyone happy and most importantly, to let others feel loved. That is so so so vital in living as a family. Hopefully when I have kids in future, they’ll learn to love their family members unconditionally. Because that is the kind of love that stays and will never fade away.

 

 

Love, Saf.

 

 

Leave a Reply

